White, Poidevin defend U23 national time trial titles

Nationals: Team claims two titles, eight medals in time trial

3 years ago by Tom Soladay

Rally Cycling opened up the American and Canadian National Championships in fine form yesterday claiming two titles and eight medals on day one of a weekend of championship racing in Knoxville, Tennessee, and Saguenay, Quebec.

American Emma White and Canadian Sara Poidevin successfully defended the Under 23 time trial titles they earned last summer with commanding performances. White did so on a flat 22 km course in eastern Tennessee and Poidevin on a hilly 25 km course into Monts-Valin National Park in Quebec.


Emma White on the U23 podium.

White was joined on the podium in second place by first-year U23 teammate Summer Moak, who won a Junior national title in 2017. White’s gold medal winning ride in the American U23 race was also strong enough to earn the bronze medal in the elite category.

“I was in pain from the moment I started to the moment I finished,” said White. “Time trials never feel good, but I welcomed the pain because that meant I wasn’t holding anything back. Finishing knowing you couldn’t have gone any harder is a success within itself!”

Sara Poidevin climbing to the turnaround.

Rally Cycling swept the Canadian U23 podium as Poidevin was joined by teammates Gillian Ellsay in second and 2017 silver medalist Katherine Maine in third.

Poidevin arrived in Quebec with the same form that earned her the Best Young Rider jersey in last month’s Amgen Tour of California.

“I’m really proud to earn the maple leaf jersey two years in a row,” she said. “Representing Rally alongside my teammates on the podium was a special moment. The course itself was challenging tactically because of the climbing and changing wind directions, so it was more a matter of maintaining your effort throughout the entire time trial.”

Rob Britton on the podium in second.

2017 bronze medalist Rob Britton moved up a notch to take silver this year, just 36 seconds back from now 11-time Canadian champion Svein Tuft.

“I knew warming up that I was going to feel good during the race,” said Britton. “But you can never be 100% sure until you roll down the start ramp. Once I get out there, I don’t worry about what my competitors are doing. I’ve learned to have my own headspace, put my head down and give’r. I’m really happy with the result.”

Kirsti Lay battled through a knee injury for third.

Canada’s Kirsti Lay had an impressive performance in the women’s elite race to take bronze.

“Honestly, I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with the time trial so to finally put the effort in and see a podium result at Nationals is really exciting for me,” said Lay. “The field was so strong this year and I’m definitely grateful to come away with a medal.”

2017 U23 World silver medalist Brandon McNulty joined the elite category event this year and came home in 6th place in Knoxville. American Olympian Kelly Catlin came home in 8th for her ride. In Saguenay, Quebec, Sara Bergen finished in 7th today while Nigel Ellsay was 11th.


Canadian U23 Women, 25.14 km

1 Sara Poidevin (AB) RALLY Cycling – U23 0:37:33.63

2 Gillian Ellsay (BC) RALLY Cycling – U23 0:38:00.83

3 Katherine Maine (ON) RALLY Cycling – U23 0:38:19.86

4 Laurie Jussaume (QC) Cyclery Racing – U23 0:38:30.29

5 Dana Gilligan (ON) Macogep Argon18 Girondins de Bordeaux p/p Mazda – U23 0:38:49.03

Canadian Elite/U23 Women, 25.14 km

1 Leah Kirchmann (MB) Team Sunweb 0:36:12.76

2 Karol-Ann Canuel (QC) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:36:20.88

3 Kirsti Lay (QC) RALLY Cycling 0:36:51.25 0:38.49

4 Jasmin Duehring (BC) TWENTY20 p/b SHO – AIR 0:36:55.26

5 Alison Jackson (BC) TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank 0:37:06.34

6 Annie Foreman-Mackey (ON) Cyclery Racing 0:37:07.05

7 Sara Bergen (BC) RALLY Cycling 0:37:10.91

8 Sara Poidevin (AB) RALLY Cycling – U23 0:37:33.63

9 Marie Soleil Blais (QC) Indépendant 0:37:46.51

10 Alizée Brien (QC) Équipe du Québec 0:37:49.67

Canadian Elite Men, 37.2 km

1 Svein Tuft (BC) Michelton-Scott 0:46:38.26

2 Robert Britton (AB) RALLY Cycling 0:47:14.16

3 Alexander Cataford (ON) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team 0:48:21.00

4 Adam Roberge (QC) SILBER Pro Cycling – U23 0:48:35.87

5 Ryan Roth (ON) SILBER Pro Cycling 0:48:45.61

6 Jordan Cheyne (BC) Elevate – KHS Pro Cycling 0:49:09.56

7 Travis Samuel (ON) SILBER Pro Cycling 0:49:11.33

8 Warren Muir (AB) The lead out project 0:49:24.30

9 Nickolas Zukowsky (QC) SILBER Pro Cycling – U23 0:49:28.16

10 Adam Jamieson (ON) SILBER Pro Cycling – U23 0:49:29.49

11 Nigel Ellsay (BC) RALLY Cycling 0:49:47.33 3:09.07

American Elite Women, 22.5km

1 Amber Neben (USA) PX4 Sports 0:29:43

2 Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek-Drops 0:00:153

3 Emma White (USA) Rally Cycling 0:00:38

4 Leah Thomas (USA) Unitedhealthcare Women 0:00:44

5 Lauren Stephens (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling 0:01:10

6 Jennifer Luebke (USA) Hagens Berman-Supermint 0:01:30

7 Whitney Allison (USA) Hagens Berman-Supermint 0:01:31

8 Kelly Catlin (USA) Rally Cycling 0:01:33

9 Stefanie Sydlik (USA) QCW Cycling 0:01:45

10 Julie Emmerman (USA) Bicycle Racing Association of Colorado Membership 0:01:53

American U23 Women, 22.5km

1 Emma White (USA) Rally Cycling 0:00:38

2 Summer Moak (USA) Rally Cycling 0:02:41

3 Hannah Arensman (USA) Feed Hungry Kids Project p/b Happy Tooth 0:04:08

American Elite Men, 34.2km

1 Joey Rosskopf (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:39:46

2 Chad Haga (USA) Team Sunweb 0:00:28

3 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:00:34

4 Lawrence Warbasse (USA) Aqua Blue Sport 0:01:36

5 Gage Hecht (USA) Aevolo 0:02:00

6 Brandon McNulty (USA) Rally Cycling 0:02:08

7 Sean Bennett (USA) Hagens Berman Axeon 0:02:23

8 Thomas Revard (USA) Hagens Berman Axeon 0:02:27

9 Brendan Rhim (USA) Holowesko-Citadel p/b Arapahoe Resources 0:02:36

10 Samuel Boardman (USA) Marc Pro Cycling Team 0:02:44